Online Enquiry
* Required fields

History & Development

The Anglican Schools Commission (Incorporated) (ASC) was established in 1985, following the passage of a resolution by the Perth Diocesan Synod of the Anglican Church of Australia. 


In agreeing to establish the ASC, Synod was giving effect to a concern to provide Anglican families and others with ready access to affordable Christian education in the Anglican tradition. It was recognised that existing independent Anglican schools, while offering excellent education and fine facilities, were beyond the reach of most people. 


The new, co-educational, low-fee Anglican day schools were to be socio-economically comprehensive, overtly Christian in emphasis and accessible to the disadvantaged and children with disabilities.


Since its establishment, the ASC has founded or acquired fourteen schools: eleven are situated in Western Australia and three are in the Diocese of Wangaratta in north-east Victoria and the Albury border area of New South Wales. Most schools in Western Australia are known as 'Anglican Community' schools or 'Anglican' schools and all but our inner city school, St George's Anglican Grammar School, in Perth's CBD, have been established in developing areas. In Victoria, two schools are known as 'Anglican Colleges' and one as an 'Anglican Grammar School'. The ASC's most recent acquisitions are Trinity Anglican College with campuses in Albury and Wodonga; Cobram Anglican Grammar School (Victoria); and St George's Anglican Grammar School. Our newest school to be established is St James' Anglican School in Alkimos, 40kms north of Perth. The campus is situated on a 10-hectare greenfields site overlooking the Indian Ocean.


In its structure the ASC is similar to the Catholic Education Commission although it is newer and much smaller in terms of numbers of schools and enrolments. The ASC has a governing Board comprising people of stature within the Church, education and business sectors. The Archbishop of Perth is Visitor to the ASC and to each of its schools in the Perth Diocese. Those located in other Dioceses have their Diocesan Bishop as Visitor. The Visitor has wide powers. Each of the ASC's schools is owned by the ASC and operates under its policies. 


In a significant development, in 1990 the Federal Government accepted the Anglican Schools Commission (Incorporated) as system authority for its schools, thus making the ASC the responsible authority for the receipt and distribution of Commonwealth General Recurrent grants and other forms of Federal assistance; the accountable authority for the Commonwealth's purposes and the recognised agent for its schools.


Each school has its own constitution, and is governed by its own School Council drawn from Church, parent and community sources. The Principal is the Chief Executive of the school and the Bursar is Business Manager and Secretary to the School Council. The Council has responsibility for overseeing the operations of the school; monitoring its progress and development; planning its capital development in association with and approval by the ASC; raising funds and authorising their application; and operating the school within a budget approved annually by the ASC.


It is important to distinguish between schools owned and operated by the Anglican Schools Commission and the other Anglican schools in Western Australia. Independent Anglican schools such as All Saints' College, Christ Church Grammar School, Guildford Grammar School, Hale School, Perth College, St Hilda's Anglican School for Girls and St Mary's Anglican Girls? School are autonomous, self-governing schools which report to the Synod of the Anglican Church but which are, for all other purposes, independent. However, as with the ASC's schools, the Diocesan Bishop is the School Visitor. 


The ASC has the mandate to promote and support existing Anglican schools and to develop or assist in the development of religious studies programs in Anglican schools generally. It is otherwise not involved in establishing policies, procedures or in any way managing or conducting the independent Anglican schools in Western Australia.


Since its establishment, the ASC has laid down policies and procedures in a wide range of areas, most of which relate to governance, educational and management issues.


The Office of the ASC, located at Mt Claremont. It has a staff of twelve comprising the Chief Executive Officer; Chief Financial Officer; Director - Mission and Planning; Risk and Compliance Manager; Communications Manager; Religious Studies Writer/Advisor; Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive; two Accountants; a Finance Officer; and an Administrative Assistant.


ASC staff are responsible for: 

  • servicing the ASC;
  • administering the financial affairs of the system;
  • preparing policies and procedures for implementation in ASC Schools;
  • planning and assisting in the development of new schools;
  • advocating on behalf of the ASC and its schools;
  • providing liaison, publicity and promotion services; and
  • providing support to schools in relation to their religious studies programs and governance, management and educational matters in general.

Staff are also responsible for receiving and distributing grants to schools and industrial and employment matters.


The operations of the ASC Office are financed by a levy on schools, retention of 2% of Commonwealth General Recurrent Grants (as permitted by the Commonwealth) and modest income from trusts, interest and other donations. 


In 2016 the ASC established its international arm, The Anglican Schools Commission International, commonly known as 'ASC International'. The aim of the group is to grow the number of international students attending our schools. Initially international students will be enrolled in Perth's St George's Anglican Grammar School but overtime we hope to place international students at other ASC schools.


Also located at the Mt Claremont Office, ASC International comprises five staff members: the Director of International Programs; Manager, International Student Services; International Marketing Manager; Region Manager - China and Hong Kong; and the Student Support and Welfare Coordinator.


Schools of the Anglican Schools Commission:



Year of Foundation

Year Levels Offered

St Mark's Anglican Community School




John Wollaston Anglican Community School




John Septimus Roe Anglican Community School




John Septimus Roe Anglican Community School




Frederick Irwin Anglican School




Peter Moyes Anglican Community School




Georgiana Molloy Anglican School




Swan Valley Anglican Community School




Peter Carnley Anglican Community School




Esperance Anglican Community School




Cathedral College Wangaratta


ASC 2011, opened 2003


St James' Anglican School




St George's Anglican Grammar School 

Perth, CBD

ASC 2015, opened 2000


Trinity Anglican College


ASC 2015, opened 2002


Cobram Anglican Grammar School


ASC 2015, opened 2000


Peter Carnley Anglican Community School (Early Learning campus)




Frederick Irwin Anglican School (Halls Head campus)

Halls Head